Understanding your Analytics

Hi Everyone!

I’d love to start a discussion on how you interpret and use analytics for your blogs! I have Google Analytics and search console set up, but I would love to get a better understanding of how to use the data from those services to improve my blog.

Do you have particular criteria that you focus on? Do you use the data to drive decisions you make around new content? Or do you use it to choose what old content to edit/refresh?

I feel like currently I just look at it and think okay last week was good or last week wasn’t great, but then I find it hard to drill down on why my page views were higher or lower.

Appreciate any advice or strategies you use!

1 Like

Amazing thread @mayaskitchendaydream !! I have both analytics and search console for my blog. I am still very new to GSC and not sure how to navigate it exactly. But I do check my analytics on a monthly basis to keep track of my traffic.

My goal right now is to grow my sessions and page views so I can apply to an ad agency. So I keep an eye on where my traffic is coming from with analytics. It’s great that it will tell me which recipe is doing best so I can see what I did there that I can possibly do again.

Thanks, @girlappetit ! Great to hear how you use the platforms and wishing you the best of luck with growing your sessions and pageviews! I was just looking at your blog, and it looks amazing. I particularly love how you’ve organized your recipes into different groups based on dietary restrictions.

Glad I’m not the only one who’s a little unsure of GSC - one of the things I do like about it though is that you can look at your most popular search terms.

I’m not entirely sure if this is true, but I think it’s normally easier for me to rank for keywords that are similar to other keywords I’m ranking for. I.e. if I’m ranking well for “whole wheat sourdough” I might also be able to rank for other whole wheat bread recipes.

1 Like