New pins for Pinterest

For those of you who are creating new pins to circulate through Pinterest, are you changing both images and text? Or just one of the two?
@mamagourmand …I know you’re in the process of doing this. What has been your process?

I’m new to Canva, so my pins look a lot different than they did before. Usually I’m using the same photo, but adding some extra text besides the name of the dish.

1 Like

@Liz Good to know! I’m doing a very similar thing, but once in a while I completely change up the photo as a test.

It’s a pain doing this, but it really does add a fresh look to what we send into the Pinterest whirlpool!

Along the same lines, @mamagourmand was sharing that she has been testing with uploading pins directly to Pinterest (as opposed to pinning from her site) and has seen a lot of traction with the direct-to-Pinterest uploads.

Yes, I’m uploading pins directly to Pinterest and directly to Tailwind. Since I already have a hidden pin in my posts, I only replace that one if it’s really outdated (meaning not up to my standards anymore, LOL).

@Liz @megan So I will use the same images and just redo the pin, adding different titles. If I reshoot the recipe, I obviously use those. For each post, new or old, I will make 3 pins, using a couple different shots. One is pinned from my site and the other 2 are uploaded directly to pinterest. Each pin has a different title, depending on what comes up in the carousel for that recipe. When I upload it to pinterest I schedule them to drip out at different times.

It’s a technique that has been working for me. I’ve been gaining a ton of followers and increased my impressions by a lot. Google used to be my number one traffic source, but since that took a nosedive with the update pinterest has taken back over.

3 Likes

@mamagourmand how often are you pinning? How many per day? It sounds like you’re testing out titles/text… Have you noticed certain types of text work best?