How do you get testimonials? 🤔

What advice do y’all have on how to get testimonials for a service/product you offer like an ebook, course or other freelance work?

This is one area I am not good at, so If love advice.

Also, using peoples pictures along with their testimonials…do you just ask them for the pic and permission and all that jazz?

Ugh, I think I’m just so afraid people will say no to these requests that I just get paralyzed from doing it!

2 Likes

I’m new to this, too, but I’ve also seen the need to dig into this topic!

I just finished publishing my first course (woo!) that will be launching soon (bigger woo!). Before I started the course, I knew I wanted to have testimonials to go along with it when it launched, so I presented the exact same information (for free!) to a handful of bloggers in a shortened time frame. Part of my up-front ask was that honest testimonials would be provided at the end. So now I have a collection of great testimonials based on the EXACT same information that I’m providing within my course. It was a win-win… we all walked away with value!

So I think offering people something in exchange for a testimonial is helpful. Maybe it’s a free copy of a book/ebook or a small gift card or just a sincere note letting them know you truly are grateful for their honest feedback.

As far as photos go, I typically will grab straight from About pages but it doesn’t hurt to ask about that because sometimes people have newer or different photos to share.

Anyone who says “no” to providing a testimonial is either just reallllly busy or is someone that maybe you don’t want talking about your work anyway. It definitely does not hurt to ask and I bet you’ll be surprised by others’ willingness to support you in this way!

1 Like

Thanks for the encouragement!