Hi! I'm Keira for Toronto, Ontario (CA)

A recreational hobby blogger, who just realized that everything I have been doing since 2015 is wrong. I’m at the point where I would like to transform this space into something that is focused while incorporating a niche and could be transformed into a business. I’m also at the stage where I see that I have made sooo many mistakes on my worpress.com site that I think it might be best for me to start from a blank canvas and take the time to re-launch the right way with meaningful and valuable content instead just throwing anything and everything at the wall. I can’t wait for this new adventure.

2 Likes

Hello Keira!

What type of blog do you have? How much content do you currently have? There’s a lot of great bloggers in here that will be able to offer advice and help guide you as you your decision.

Thanks for jumping into the discussion!
melissa

@melissat

If I’m honest, I might have too many things wrong with my current site.

Early in 2020, I decided to stop publishing new content and take a step back to reflect. Also, I went on a purging spree and deleted a lot of my content. (*I now know that I did this incorrectly, as I have 404 errors.) Of the remaining content, I don’t have much that I would consider transferring (not on brand/niche).

Where I don’t want to lose my current audience a total of 39 ppl (35 ppl who are currently following my site and 4 ppl who have signed up for my mailing list), I think it would serve them better to advise them of the new site and then they can choose to migrate or not. **If treated similar to a product launch, this could be a great opportunity to promote on social platforms and potentially grow an audience.

As I’m currently in the information-gathering phase of this plan, I keep finding things to add to the list of what I did wrong the 1st time round, and the list keeps growing:

no plugins (missing recipe card, analytics, etc…)
currently using only a basic wp theme